EWC to Join the Largest College Football League

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – The Mid-South Conference and the Sun Conference are merging to form the largest football league in college sports. Beginning in 2017, the Mid-South will include 20 teams competing in three divisions – the Bluegrass, Appalachian and Sun.

Edward Waters College will be part of the Sun Division. The expanded football conference will allow three teams to earn automatic bids to the NAIA (National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics) playoffs.

The Mid-South Conference’s new football divisions beginning in 2017 are:

BLUEGRASS DIVISION: Bethel, Campbellsville, Cincinnati Christian, Cumberland, Georgetown, Kentucky Christian, Lindsey Wilson.

APPALACHIAN DIVISION: Bluefield, Cumberlands, Point, Pikeville, Reinhardt, St. Andrews, Union.

SUN DIVISION: Ave Maria, Edward Waters College, Faulkner, Southeastern, Warner, Webber International.