New Tigers Welcomed During Convocatum Est.

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. -- Edward Waters College held its Spring 2016 Convocatum Est. Ceremony Wednesday, February 24th, to commemorate the Class of 2019’s commitment to academic excellence.

New and transfer students were individually welcomed by the administration and signed their names in the College registry. Students then recited a pledge to uphold the core values of Edward Waters College and promote academic excellence, ethics, and servant leadership throughout their four years of matriculation.

Following the pledge, Edward Waters College President and alumnus, Dr. Nathaniel Glover, delivered an inspirational speech about overcoming obstacles and the importance of determination. He stated, “You should always look for the edge that will set you apart from the group." He also emphasized the importance of "never settling for second place if first place is available."

Convocatum Est. is a traditional event conducted to initiate, inspire and empower new students to set high academic standards for their matriculation at Edward Waters College. It also serves as the official opening-of-school ceremony.

Below are the names of the new and transfer students for this semester:

Andrea Elaine Bailey

Carla Lavette Brown

David Bussey

Antonio Antwain Butler

Niketa Raina Butler

Timothy Chatfield

Dante Collins

Ronald Willington Copeland

Robert Edward Davis

Carl Henry Dunas

Kylle Edwards

Dwayne Esteni

Allissia Bone' Gates

Michael A Hernandez

Kenneth Dejuane Hines

Alexi Jolyncier Hollis

Joseph Demetrius Hunter

Jeremiah Hutchinson

Olandra Imari Johnson

Andre J Johnson

Deion J Johnson

Zanicea Johnson

Lacey Lee King

Morgan Drew Kohn

Dontae LeCorn

Kerrion Letrice Madison

Marina Maguire

Terryikah Bre'Yauna McClain

Mark A. McCoy

Korey Lee McDougald

Deaundre Dwight McGhee

Kenneth J McLaughlin

Juan Sebastian Ochoa Alfaro

Brittany Labetty Phelps

Bobbi Michelle Quaintance

Xavier Randolph

Kyle Anthony Reed

Vincent Lorenzo Richardson

Wayne Lutrell Richardson

Kantevious Jajuan Riley

Joshua D Rodriguez

John Brandon Scotton

Gerseny Selesma

Charis Alexandria Sims

Hamid R. Smith

Breanna Sol

Cambrick Taylor

Aldo D Thomas

Christopher M Thomas

Bruce A. Thomas

Kenya L. Trice

Anthony Tucker

Juquan Loren Vickers

D'Audra Shamon Welcome

Kayla Whipple

Javhon Calvin Whitehead

Curtis Louis Williams

Henry Lee Williams

Vadarius Javon Williams

Cedric Williams

Samuel Isaiah Wright